Please Click Here for Frequently Asked Questions re: the DWI & Drug Education Programs
The State of Connecticut Pre-Trial Alcohol Education Program is available to some drivers after their first arrest for operating under the influence of an intoxicating substance. While generally people assume it is alcohol, it applies to any intoxicating substance, including prescription medications.
Entry into this program for anyone arrested in the State of CT must be on a referral directly from any of the State of CT courts. All payments are made directly to the Courts not to New Directions. The program consists of two different levels determined after an initial interview with the client. Level 1 consists of 15 hours of psycho-therapeutic/ educational group sessions over a 10-week period, as required under Connecticut state statute. The Level 2 program consists 22 ½ hours of 15 week period. All groups meet one time a week for 90 minutes. Classes are scheduled for one day of the week at the same time each week. State statute does not permit clients to change out of a group once the group has started. The following additional requirements must be met: 1) attendance at community support meeting (such as AA) or another type of addiction support group, 2) completion of ongoing drinking/driving journals, 3) completion of at least one report on a relevant topic. Absences are not permitted and active verbal participation is required.
When enrolling in our program, it is with the understanding that at the completion of this program, the group facilitator, all of whom are licensed or certified drug and alcohol counselors will make any appropriate recommendations for treatment if they deem this appropriate.
When required by other States, drug testing and/or alcohol screenings can be arranged through a combination of instant drug testing and saliva screenings for the presence of alcohol or other intoxicating substances.
The State of Connecticut Pre Trial Drug Education Program is for individuals arrested for certain lower level drug charges. You can apply for this program at your first court appearance and consists of the same levels and requirements listed above for the DWI program.
If you are arrested in another State for either a DWI/DUI or drugs and that State requires you to attend education classes we may be able to assist you. Calling to go through a phone screening lets us ask you the questions needed for us to help you determine if our programming will satisfy the state in which your arrest happened.